- Small Business Trends - http://smallbiztrends.com -

Cyber Attacks No Longer a Big Biz Problem: Twitter Chat July 19

[1]Join me, along with other small business owners and managers, for a discussion about how small businesses are now being deliberately targeted by cybercriminals — and what you can do to protect your business.

In the first 6 months of 2012, the number of targeted attacks against small businesses, has doubled.  And when your organization is smaller, your budget and your IT defenses tend to be smaller.  So it can be a business-survival issue for a small business.

Thanks to Symantec, we’re bringing together security experts on Thursday, July 19 at 4pm New York time (1pm Los Angeles time) to discuss what you need to be aware of and what you can do to protect your business.  We’ll cover the following:

A poll by Symantec of small businesses [2] (PDF) found that 50% of small businesses believe they would not be targeted in an attack, simply because they are small.  Yet, 36% of all attacks target small businesses.  Bottom line:  your size doesn’t protect you!
I am excited to have two world-class (in my opinion) experts in security issues joining me in this chat.  It is difficult to get access to people of this caliber, with so much knowledge — yet they have made time to come on Twitter to answer questions and offer ideas and potential solutions.  I urge you to take advantage of this opportunity.
Twitter chat details:

CyberAttacks: Not longer just a big biz problem

Date: Thursday, July 19, 2012

Time: 1 – 2 pm PT (Los Angeles time) / 4 – 5 pm ET (New York time)

Expert participants:

Where:  On Twitter.com.  Follow the hashtag #SMBchat [9] to see what others say during the chat.  Be sure to use #SMBchat in your tweets when you participate.  All are welcome — join in!!!